Subtleties of our First Kiss

last-kiss_1600

We lay there looking into each others eyes. His, such a comfort to my ever-restless ones. Not wanting to break gaze, not wanting to stray from the safety of his-Teary beady eyes that always sent a nervous shiver down my spine, but still drew me close, full of mystery. We both saw it. That mutual joy, and yearning. That simple communication of our souls. Our bodies aching for contact, our souls craving unification, our spirits wanting and waiting.

And as his face inched closer to mine, my heart, racing. Louder and faster. His breath warming the tip of my cold nose, the heat from his slender body radiating mine, the gap between – subtly reducing, I drew a long deep breath.

And when his lips touched mine, ever so gently, like the light brush of a feather, an electric surge ran from my lips to the cords of my heart. The contact, numbing. My brain – muddled by the incomprehensible grace of this moment, yet, not trying to understand. And even though I yearned to return the kiss, even though, my every impulse was to bite on his delicious lower lip, as he lingered, I couldn’t, and he knew I wouldn’t, for we both knew that if I did, the tenderness and perfection in this timeless moment would be ruined. And as the feathery warmth of his lips left mine, and his face drew further and further away -our eyes locked once more, full of longing yet content, filled with sadness but glowing with joy, and I couldn’t help but thank God, for the subtleties of this beautiful kiss.

Leave a Reply

